Reviews

“Want to go again!!!”

*****
Reviewed 7 September 2012 
We made reservations based on the reviews on here and the location - it is round the corner from the Premier Inn where we were staying...Good choice - lovely steak - excellent wine - fab pud and great coffee....what else can I say!!! I would go every week if I lived in Edinburgh....The atmosphere suffers because of the way it is laid out, in separate rooms - and we were with a family and then another couple.......so it was a bit lacking there.......but in every other way......it was great!

Visited August 2012
ELEMGEE, Brora, United Kingdom

“Good food, friendly people”

****
Reviewed 3 September 2012
Located near Haymarket Station. Neighborhood steakhouse offering delicious Scottish food. Very good steaks, delicious haggis. We walked in late and they did not rush us. Guided us on Single malt selection. Ended up closing the place after speaking with owner. He, like everyone else we met in Scotland was friendly and charming.

Visited August 2012
Peter S, New York

“Excellent, Well Worth Going”

*****
Reviewed 2 September 2012
Visited 1st September 2012 - I would seriously urge anyone to visit this restaurant. We had a brilliant selection of starters which were all very tasty. Our mains came in good time and the steaks were first class. There were no complaints from our table! The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, couldnt do enough for you. The owner even came to say goodnight when he left. Brilliant little restaurant, a great little find. Would recommend to everyone.

Visited September 2012
Jenni M, Inverurie, Scotland, United Kingdom

“Brilliant meal!” 

*****
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile
Excellent dinner!
We had some delicious starters and fantastic steaks. The staff were lovely. One of the best steaks I've had a in a long time. Strongly recommend this place. The staff were lovely also.

pollockaberdeen, Inverurie, United Kingdom

“Edinburgh Aug 22 2012”

*****
Reviewed 28 August 2012 Simple little steakhouse, good prices, best steak ever, cooked to perfection. Had with clansman sauce. Delicious! Four of us went, while at fringe festival. All of us had a thoroughly good meal. Would recommend this little place to anyone looking for reasonable well cooked food.

Visited August 2012
Gaynor R, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

“Amazing place - look forward to going back without a stag group” 

*****
Reviewed 20 August 2012
We went here for dinner on a stag do (an adult professional one) and the food was just exceptional. We were a little rowdy (sorry) but will definitely go back here again. Steak was like butter and the mixed grill comes with chicken, black pudd, haggis, sausages etc etc. Good food, mid range budget wise.

Visited August 2012 Uk
Floss, London, United Kingdom

“Magnificent”

*****
Reviewed 15 August 2012
Turned up on a Wednesday having made a booking for 6, but unfortunately due to weather only 3 made it. They had arranged for us to be in the private area and even though there was only 3 of u they let us have the table. The service, recommendations and staff were first class, but the main highlight is the "meat". The steaks and burgers are sublime. Thoroughly recommended and awaiting our next visit.

Visited March 2012
TartanTeddyBear, Glasgow, United Kingdom

“delish!”

*****
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Easily the best steak in Edinburgh. Place doesnt look like much from the outside. But the food is amazing! Def worth a trip to the Haymarket area

Visited February 2012
sam m Dumfries, United Kingdom

“Great steaks! Sublime Banoffee Pudding”

*****
Reviewed 23 July 2012

McKirdys is a bit off the beaten trek but well worth the walk. Looks nothing much from the outside and even inside is a bit minimal, Vettriano prints on the wall and a few copied reviews but hey, we came here for the celebrated meat. Not disappointed in the least, we had rib eye steaks, done to perfection, maybe a bit thinly cut for our liking but we are carnivores. Thick cut steak chips and a nice plate of salad to accompany. The early bird menu excellent value too, guys at the next table had that. The waiter was chatty, eager to please and knowledgable about the different cuts. Would certainly recommend this place, probably advisable to book online. If you arrive early, plan to, and take in a pint at Thomsons over the road. Unpretentious pub, again looks nothing from the outside, great selection of real ale. Oh and did I mention the puddings, Ihad the Banoffee pie, it came with a dollop of great italian ice cream ice cream, delightful. OH had cheese board, cheeses from Mellis cheese shop, I thought it looked a bit minimal for the price but it did come with two types of oatcakes, grapes and quince jelly. All in all the sort of place I would safely suggest to friends, handy for the train home too, Haymarket station just a short walk away. Wines by the glass and the bottle and just about the most sensible prices I have seen for a long time, although not on the menu, Rose wine also available by the glass. All in all a great evening.

Visited July 2012
Jill500

For more reviews or to leave your own, please visit TripAdvisor